Colleges and universities should require all faculty to spend time working outside the academic world in professions relevant to the courses they teach.

Comprehensive understanding of overall facts and information of one’s profession is necessary in today’s competitive world. One should be trained to face all possible problems that they might face in their work. Process of gaining absolute knowledge regarding our field starts right from college and university. Professors are the tutors who teach us how to take initial steps in the outside world. I completely agree with the statement’s assertion that faculty must spend time working outside the academic world.

Academics work as building blocks for the students. Hence, they should be trained in casting a bridge between the students and real world. Faculties without any industrial or practical experience cannot teach the student to be successful outside the classroom. For instance, a faculty in engineering college should have factory training and work experience so that he can acquaint the students with the pragmatic scenarios and train him for all plausible outcomes. A teacher who doesn’t have knowledge about the practical world will not be able to follow a fruitful didactic approach.

Also, when a teacher has few years of work experience, he is more valuable to the institute than an untrained professor with many years of teaching experience. Professor with appropriate training in the relevant field can not only guide the student professionally but also morally. He can educate him about working in a team harmoniously and all the right traits and attitude required to survive in the competitive sector. Professor should be up-to-date with all the new findings and developments taking place in the sector. For example, a professor of MBA course must also be working part-time in other firm to be aware of the latest advancements and changes in the market environment.

On the other hand, when all faculties are complied to work outside the university along with teaching the students; they can have a hard time keeping up with the hectic schedule. While, the teacher to student ratio in most universities is very less, most faculties are forced to teach more classes than they normally can. Extra training and work along with this work load would only burden them more, which might lead to inefficiency.

Hence, training programs for tutors should be schedules in such a way that it would not burden them and make them more efficient. By increasing the knowledge and experience of the professors only can we guarantee the overall development of their students. So, all faculties must spend time working outside academics in their germane courses.