In any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being influenced by past achievements within that field

The above assertion states that for making notable achievements in any particular field it is important to first analyze past developments made in that field. The statement is in concord with the universally accepted and established dogma that in order to make further progress it is important to look upon the past and learn from it. Though I do not completely agree with the statement as past experiences or past achievements might sometimes stymie our development.

First of all, consider any ongoing research, for example Internet of things. To make substantiate progress in research on further prospects of IOT it is highly essential to learn about the progress made before in that field. By knowing the past only, can we thrive to make noteworthy developments. Field of research and development is such a branch of applied sciences which requires continuous evaluation of achievements made in the past. Aspiring scientists and researches make significant developments everyday in various fields based on past observations.

There are myriad of other domains which go through continuous change and enhancement of theories established in the past. For instance, discovery of Higgs-Boson particles. Developments in this domain continue even after a century. Although after such a long time and copious amount of empirical data; according to some scholarly and veteran scientists, we have barely scratched the surface of the field. In this case detailed study of past findings is gravely necessary to make significant developments.

In spite of all these benefits of past findings, it is sometimes required to keep the past in past and search for new ideas and solutions which do not completely depend on previous findings. It is entirely possible that dependency on preceding data and information may thwart possibilities of better and more sustainable progress. Some people might just dwell on the past and completely ignore newer areas of research. For example, environmentalists have been trying to find various solutions for increasing global warming and its impending danger on existence of human species. Though, if the upcoming environment engineers and enthusiasts focus only on solutions already proposed, then there would be no space for better solutions.

In sum, introduction of new ideas is as much important as the influence of achievements of past. One cannot have the cognizance of correcting mistakes made in the past without its comprehensive study. And also new ideas - out of the box ideas are highly essential in any field for further development. Hence, according to me, it is not entirely impossible to make progress without the influence of past achievements in any particular field.