over the past two years, the number of shoppers in central plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many central plaza owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism in the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in central plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that the business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels.

In the above letter a shop owner of Central Plaza complaints about decrease in business at the plaza and proposes a possible solution. He based this decrease in business on the increasing popularity of skateboarding. He further relates this increase in skateboarding with the increase in nuisance in the Plaza. He concludes his letter by requesting the city to prohibit skateboarding in the plaza as an attempt to increase business for shop owners. Though this might seem a legitimate solution, the author has based many of his arguments on mere predictions and possible prejudice against skateboarding.

Firstly, the author has predicted the decrease in sales in plaza as a result of increasing popularity of skateboarding. Whereas, there could be multiple reasons behind the decrease. It is possible that due to construction of many other mega malls and shopping hubs in the city the old Central Plaza might have lost its earlier charm and importance. The people of the city would now prefer to shop from newer stores which might have better collection as well as services. Also it is not asserted that the people have avoided coming to the Plaza because of skateboarders. It is possible that some find it interesting and entertaining and not a nuisance.

Secondly, the author directly related the increase in litter and vandalism in the Plaza with the increase in skateboarding. There could be tons of other factors affecting the environment of the Plaza. Major factors affecting could be low maintenance due to decline in sales or addition of other undesired entities. Deteriorating reputation of the Plaza could be one of the reasons. Vandalism in Plaza due to skateboarding is mere prejudice against the phenomenon.

Moreover, as a solution to the problem of decreases in sales the author has proposed that skateboarding be prohibited in the Plaza. Though the author contains no such assurance or proof that business will gain momentum as soon as skateboarding deceases. It can be the case that the decline in sales is not at all related to increase in skateboarding. Neither the author has instances of other places where sales would have increased by stopping skateboarding or other such activities. Hence, this request of the author is based solely on predictions and baseless assumptions.

In conclusion, the author should collect thorough statistics and proofs to support his argument. He should prepare a concrete case against skateboarding in Plaza and also reviews of customers visiting the plaza regarding that. Only through detailed study of the prevailing problem and an indifferent evaluation of all the factors can the author be able to reach a definite solution.