"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

In the above letter to the editor of Balmer Island Gazatte the author requests of immediate implementation of reduction in number of mopeds rented during summer season by 50 percent. In favour of his argument he relates the number of accidents occurring with the increase in population during summer and more number of mopeds. He also states the example of Seaville to support his claim. But according to me the author has based his arguments on insignificant facts and irrelevant data and information. There are various shortcomings in this assertion.

Firstly, author states a paradox in the very first line of the paragraph. According to the author moped is a very popular form of transportation on the island. Reduction in number of mopeds will only subside the economic development of the island. As stated as a popular form of transportation, moped renting might have a significant role in revenue generation on the island. Also, the author has not mentioned the precise number of tourists using mopeds. It is absolutely plausible that the ratio of mopeds used to accidents caused by mopeds is quite less.

Secondly, the author has not mentioned lucidly the area and initial population of the island. Probably the number of mopeds rented is far less than the maximum quantity of mopeds that can be set in the city. It is also not clear that accidents involving pedestrians and mopeds are due to large number of mopeds rented. Lack of traffic regulation in the city or lack of concentration of pedestrians could be responsible for the accidents. Moreover, it is not clear that by reducing number of mopeds, the accidents will also cease. It would just reduce economic development of the moped rental companies.

Finally, in the last line author has compared the same situation with Seaville. According to the author, by reducing number of rented mopeds in the city of Seaville, number of accidents occurring had reduced. But here no similarities in both cities have been cited. It is possible that Seaville has far less population during summer which obviates the necessity of more mopeds, or smaller area as compared to Balmer. In either of these cases, the result that was achieved in Seaville cannot be hoped to be achieved in Balmer. The author must put forward a more convincing study to implement reduction in moped renting.

Hence, by thorough study of all the aspects of the city and accurate survey of citizens is required to build a concrete argument. A detailed study of causes of accidents is also required to strengthen the case.