The well-being of a society is enhanced when many of its people question authority.

An authoritative body in any aspect of society is the one which maintains peace and decorum in the system and among its people. A particular person or a Group of people in authority is the one entitled with the responsibility of maintaining well-being in the community and making appropriate decisions for its amelioration. Though when the body in authority is challenged or questioned it can lead to further chaos and discomfort in the society or it can lead to enhancement of the system.

When the authorities are questioned about their intentions for the betterment of the society and their actions are closely scrutinized and often criticized by the people, it augments distrust among the people. The members of the community develop hostility for authority and often feel unsafe and try to over-rule the governing body. For instance, when any leader or minister of a particular government ruling the country is accused of a crime he may or may not have committed (this can also be an act of maligning his/her reputation by the opposite party), the citizens automatically assume the worst and declare him/her unfit to assume the position of a leader. Questioning their authority and in some cases starting an insurgent movement leads to mis-management and chaos in the country.

A community or society is a group of people striving for achieving same goal and with similar thoughts for their betterment. A society can be as big as a country or a small organization; while questioning the body with authority in any type of society often leads to discomfort and dissatisfaction. For example, in every educational institution there is a student governing body who works under the directions of the faculties to keep up discipline and order in the institute. This body has the authority to make particular decisions and take proper actions to meet their goal. When their authority is challenged by other students, order in the institution is disrupted. This challenge can also be turned into an opportunity to change or develop the system further by introspections, but with the right attitude of people in authority.

We can also take examples from corporate organizations like multinational companies. For every project carried out by the company there is a project chairman who sees to the development and working of the project. He works with his colleagues on the project and takes necessary decisions and actions for betterment of the company. But there could be ample of objections from other members of the team about his decisions. in such cases the person in authority can listen to all the objections and then make the right decisions or he can misuse his power to seize others from questioning his place. In the latter case, with right attitude, he has the opportunity to turn this revolt in his favour.

Hence, questioning the authority by many people can be deleterious for the society as a whole or it can be turned into a positive impact for betterment of the society by the open-minded and optimistic attitude of the authority.