Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

In the above statement, the author contends that universities should make it obligatory for every student to study few courses outside their field of interest. It is necesssary to study variety of subjects for overall development of student. Diversity in subjects taught in universities broadens student's mindset and helps better comprehension of other fields as well. Though, there should be no compulsion to choose other classes outside their area of study, it is essential for every student to take variety of courses.

With each passing day, the world grows more advance and also more competitive. In today's world only the fittest survives, and to cope up with all the recent developments it is necessary to have some knowledge of all fields. For example, engineering students should also sign up for foreign language classes as it would be helpful for their career in other countries as well. Similarly, an art student should also be suggested to attend economics and accounts class so that they can have better understanding of finance management.

Apart from economic and financial benefits of diversification of courses, there are also psychological benefits of this suggestion. To excel in their concerned field, students sometimes tend to overwork themselves. The peer pressure of being overtaken by others and fear of failure makes all students work beyond their capacity. This sometimes leads to mental illnesses like anxiety which leads to depression and also inferiority complex. To avoid such acrimonious situations, it should be made necessary for all students to join courses outside their field of study too. For example, A student of research in Advanced physics or astronomy can attend drama or music or dance classes which might be helpful in pacifying his anxiety. Study of different courses also opens up possibilities of new interest and also helps in complete development of understanding.

In spite of these advantages of diverse courses, it is has certain logical flaws. It is possible that, instead of helping in student's development it can have deleterious effects on them. For instance, when a science student is compelled to join an arts class in which he is not at all interested, it might augment his tensions and burden. Apart from his regular courses which are themselves onerous, he has to excel in the arts class too. This will only exacerbate his mental condition.

Hence, it should not be compulsory for students to join classes they might not be interested in. Instead they should be given freedom to choose their subject of interest and not be forced to join in classes for mere credits. In sum, diversification of courses should be based on interests of individual students and not an obligatory choice.