The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

In the above memorandum of a business manager of a television station, the manager proposes to increase time of weather and local news in late night news programs. In support to his statement he puts forwards various arguments such as reduction in advertising by local businesses and complaints from viewers due to decrease in weather forecasts and local news. According to me, the author’s arguments contain myriad of logical flaws as well as it is based on non-verified assumptions.

First of all, it is not clear from the paragraph whether the news channel is local or national. For precise decisions, it is important to know the audience. The author should have clarified the maximum reach of their programs and the areas covered in their news. Content of a news channel depends on variance in their prospective viewers. If the channel has nationwide viewership, then the local news and weather conditions are of no importance. Without categorically scrutinizing the result of the change, no alterations or hasty decisions should be made.

Second, the author supports his argument by posing that most complaints received from viewers during that period was regarding the local and weather news. Though the number of complaints received is not clear. Also the total number of viewers of late-night news shows is not mentioned. Before making any assertions, the manager should study and analyze all statistics, count percent of viewers complaining and the significant effects of the changes in viewership. It is possible that the number of viewers complaining is negligible as compared to total viewership. In that case, it poses no significant threat to the channel’s reputation.

Thirdly, the author contends that there is decrease in advertisement revenues during late night shows due to changes in the content. However, it is illucid in the argument that the advertisers have retreated their advertisements due to the same reason. It is possible that they might have taken that step in response to some other factors like; decrease in overall viewership of the channel, deteriorating reputation of the channel, increased cost of advertising on the channel or no absolute success in business due to advertisement. It is also possible that as the channel might have nationwide viewers, these advertise do not reach pertinent audience. Finally the author has mentioned that all news programs should include weather and local news. Though, it is not clearly mentioned in the paragraph that it can result in desired outcome. It is possible that repeated news of same incidents or same weather forecasts during the day reduces the channel’s viewership and seem cloying to the audience. It is important for a news channel to keep redundancy rate low in their content to attract viewers.

In sum, it is certainly not clear that making the above mentioned changes by the manager, viewership and advertising revenues will increase. Hence, to make the argument more solid and insinuate desired changes, the manager should illustrate concrete situations and plausible assertions. For this the manager should hold various detailed surveys on preferences of viewers and the advertisers.