Laws should be flexible enough to take account of various circumstances, times, and places.

The above statement asserts that the situation, time and circumstances should be taken into consideration before giving a verdict. The author contends that laws should be flexible enough to take all these factors into consideration. In my opinion, some amount of flexibility is required in all laws for fair and indifferent judgement. Though, this flexibility should be in moderate amount.

Laws are invariably an important part of a country. Laws help in maintaining order and alignment in the society. Without a definite law and order system, country faces absolute chaos and uncontrollable situations. Laws are necessary to distinguish between what is morally and technically acceptable or unacceptable. While there are concrete laws which all denizens are abided to follow, there should be some flexibility. When citizens are compelled to follow certain rules and regulations strictly, it might hamper their fundamental development or land them in excessively deleterious situations. For example, if someone commits a murder in order to save themselves, it should be considered as an act of self-defense. They might have committed the crime unknowingly and unintentionally to protect their life. In that case, the laws must be flexible enough to come to a fair and right verdict.

Laws are devised in order to protect the citizens from all evils and crimes and not to restrict them while keeping the criminal activities in check. Also the basic canons in a community must look at the possible scenarios. The accused should be given chance to put forward his/her point and the verdict should be given keeping the circumstances in mind. For instance, in Dubai, by law the hands of a thief are cut when caught and proved guilty. But before taking such intense steps it should be considered that under what circumstances was the person forced to steal. It is possible that he might be an indigent who does have the means to fulfill basis requirements and desperately decides to steal food. In such a case, compassion should be shown towards that person.

However, it is not always necessary that the accused has pristine intentions. Probably, a murderer might have framed the whole situation to look like an act of self defense or an accident. Or the thief might have posed to be helpless in order to escape legal actions. To avoid such traps and bring justice, it is extremely important to analyze whole situation thoroughly. It is also required to lucidly define the term "flexibility in law". Flexibility should be extended up to a moderate state. Too much flexibility might result in misuse or circumvention of laws. Using these loopholes in the rules, the criminal might escape justice and be free from any legal proceedings.

Hence, it is important to keep the crimes in check and all activities in control while giving some amount of freedom to the citizens. In conclusion, the laws should be flexible as far as all concerned are safe and justice is served to the victim.