"A jazz music club in Monroe would be a tremendously profitable enterprise. Currently, the nearest jazz club is 65 miles away; thus, the proposed new jazz club in Monroe, the C-Note, would have the local market all to itself. Plus, jazz is extremely popul

In this argument, the author claims that a jazz music club in Monroe would be a profitable business because of three reasons: there is a lack of competitors, jazz is popular in Monroe, and jazz fans is willing to spend a good amount of money on jazz. The argument sounds convincible at first glance, however, it is based on a series of unwarranted assumptions and thus fails to be wholly persuasive as it stands.

First of all, the author fails to consider that although currently the nearest jazz club is 65 miles away, it might not be the case after they have open the C Note club. It takes time to renovate a store, recruit the employees and the musicians, get everything ready and to finally be able to open a club. And in fact, by the time that they are ready, it could be the case that several other competitors have already opened jazz clubs nearby and therefore the author will lose the geographic merits he claims to have.

Another paramount problem of the argument is that the author assumes that in Monroe, the jazz clubs are as popular as the jazz festivals and the radio program “Jazz Nightly”. Although it is indicated in the passage that a lot of people attended the jazz festival last summer, it might not stay popular in the coming years and on the other hand, it is possible that people went for some other elements of the festival instead of the jazz music, such as the food or the entertainment facilities. Moreover, we do not know how many people listen to “Jazz Nightly”, hence although it is the highest-rated program, it might not be the most popular one. Therefore, many alternative possibilities could be resulted unless the author can provide sufficient amount of evidence to substantiate his claims.

Additionally, the study the author presents at the end of the passage is questionable. First of all, it is a nationwide study and thus might not be applicable to Monroe; and secondly, we do not know how many people participated in this study and if the sample is representative, and lastly, if the participants actually spend money in jazz club or other forms of jazz entertainment.

Finally, even if the study is valid and all of the assumptions the author made above prove to be true, the arguer fails to consider the cost of investing a club and thus it might not be as profitable as the author predicts.

To sum up, there are, as I have presented, many obvious flaws that need to be addressed before the proposal can be seriously scrutinized. To strengthen the argument the author must prove that there will be no potential competitors, that Jazz club is very popular in Monroe and the jazz fans will spend a lot of money in the club.