Collectors prize the ancient life-size clay statues of human figures made on Kali Island but have long wondered how the Kalinese artists were able to depict bodies with such realistic precision. Since archeologists have recently discovered molds of human heads and hands on Kali, we can now conclude that the ancient Kalinese artists used molds of actual bodies, not sculpting tools and techniques, to create these statues. This discovery explains why Kalinese miniature statues were abstract and entirely different in style: molds could only be used for life-size sculptures. It also explains why few ancient Kalinese sculpting tools have been found. In light of this development, collectors should expect the life-size sculptures to decrease in value and the miniatures to increase in value.

In this argument, the arguer concludes that the ancient Kalinese artists used molds of actual bodies to create status. To justify the conclusion, the arguer points out the discovery of the molds of human heads and hands on Kali,which may seem reasonable at first glance. And then the arguer claims that the life-size sculptures will decrease in value and the miniatures will increase in value. With a series of unwarranted assumptions and holes, however, this argument fails to be wholly persuasive as it stands.

A paramount problem involved in this recommendation is that the arguer simply assumes that the discovered molds of human heads and hands were used to create the statues. However, it is much likely that the molds were used for other purposes. Even if the molds were used for sculpting, we cannot hastily conclude that Kalinese artists also use molds to create all life-size statues. There could be a mix of techniques such as to use molds for head and extremities, and to use sculpting tools for the shape and skin. The author should provide more reliable evidence and have to rule out these or other possible alternative explanations.

Additionally, it is not safe to unfairly assume that the Kalinese artists never used sculpting tools and techniques to create the statues. The lack of discoveries of sculpting tools could be explained by various reasons. For example, the Kalinese might use woods as sculpting tools, which discompose easily and therefore remain nowhere to be found nowadays. Or perhaps there were natural disasters such as floods or tsunami and thus all the tools were destroyed. Without more data and evidence to rule out these alternative explanations, there is little chance that the author’s assumption can be bolstered.

Finally, even if the foregoing assumptions are reasonable, the author unjustly concludes that the life-size sculptures will decrease in value and the miniatures to increase in value. In fact, there is no rational between the statement and the conclusion. It could turn out to be the case that the life-size sculptures were much valued due to their paucity. Therefore, the arguer’s conclusion is unfounded.

To sum up, there are, as I have presented, many obvious flaws that need to be addressed before the proposal can be seriously scrutinized. I will need more evidence on the purpose of the molds, the nature of sculpting tools, the climate histories of the island, and the value of the two sculptures to confidently agree with the author’s prediction. Otherwise, any impetuous implementation of the recommendation would be unlikely to have the desired consequences.