Claim Though often considered an objective pursuit learning about the historical past requires creativity Reason Because we can never know the past directly we must reconstruct it by imaginatively interpreting historical accounts documents and artifacts

I generally agree with the speaker’s claim that learning about the historical past requires creativity based on two reasons: many times no documentation of the history is available at all, and other times what we have is usually a mix of information which requires creativity to solve the puzzle.

Like Oscar Wilde, the famous Irish-born writer in the 18th century had once said: “history is merely gossip”, the past is truly full of adventures. In fact, the word history comes from the ancient Greek for “story”. Historians work like detectives, they gather evidences, search for lost treasures, and put everything together in an effort. For example, how the dinosaurs extinct was still a myth and numerous scientists had suggested different explanations. Since there was no human beings during the time and certainly no forms of documents available, the scientists have to search for fossils and bones in order to imagine what the earth was like back then. Another example would be Darwin’s “theory of evolution”, which is largely based on conjecture as well.

Additionally, in many cases only subjective pieces of information were available, thus in order to learn the truth, historian were required to have a certain degree of creative thinking and meticulous analysis. Just as Joachim Peiper, a well-known captain from World War two, had once said: “history is written by the victor, only those experienced know the truth.” And reflect on the history of ancient China, when the emperors started a new dynasty, usually the first thing they do was to burn all the history documents and to kill the historiographers, followed by rewriting what had happen in order to glorify their actions. On the other hand, sometimes only diaries or second-hand evidence were survived. Therefore, in an effort to know what had truly happened, historians were required to combine pieces of information together, add connections here and there, and even entirely overturn certain subjective evidence.

In summary, although history is often considered to be objective, it is never merely about facts. Creativity is required to learn about the past and to figure out what had truly happened, every new piece of information could possible overturn the what had been previously considered to be the truth.