Claim: Though often considered an objective pursuit, learning about the historical past requires creativity.

Reason: Because we can never know the past directly, we must reconstruct it by imaginatively interpreting historical accounts, documents, and artifacts.

History is a crucial discipline to learn about and infer from our past. Even though it would be misleading to deny history its objectivity, it is most certainly true that the road leading to an objective historical study requires creativity and imagination.

It is true that we can never know the past directly. However, this implies that we have access to the present. Do we? Knowledge and depiction of reality is always subjective. Even in the present one can only observe an event from its own point of view. Only through a variance of additional documents (e.g. newspapers, listening to another person’s version of a certain event, speeches or interviews) one can construct a qualified picture of an objective reality. To do this, we need to creatively put together different information like a puzzle to construct a bigger picture. For example, watching a speech from a political leader can be insightful but grants by no means direct access to objective knowledge, and therefore reality. The absorbed impressions need to be processed and construed. To understand what the politician said we need to grasp and account for the context of the speech and contrast the language with the corresponding action. Simply put, knowledge is constructed through a creative process of combining and interpreting documents, artifacts or contemporary accounts. Accordingly, this logic expands to historical events as well. To understand a reality that is long gone, we cannot include our own point of view but rely solemnly on historical documents. Therefore, we construct the past reality through the same process by which we construct our present.

In addition to the stated argument that the present is as constructed as the past and, thus, the past needs as much interpretation as the present, it can be said that creating context in the past requires a very difficult creative process. Different to the present, we have less access to the societal, economic, political and geographical context of the past. Since context is necessary to construe an objective examination of historical events it is indispensable to creatively build the context to understand a historic event in its full complexity. After this context has been constructed, the historical artefacts like letters, official documents, books and even the climate have to be considered and interpreted to learn more about history. This whole process can justifiably be considered creative.

Of course, interpretation and creativity always leaves room for different opinions and undermines an irrefutable objectivity that is wished. Science, as always, is always provisional, never completely objective and not immune to assails. However, this does not alter its validity as long as we regard history as dynamic, complex and colored with different shades.

In summary, knowledge in general requires a creative process. Realities are constructed through the interpretation of various documents and artifacts that are accessed from a subjective point of observation. This is true for the present and, therefore, as well for the past. Additionally, historical events need to be seen in the context of its time. Constructing this context requires imagination, creativity and interpretation. Following from those arguments it can be concluded that history, despite is rightful claim to be objective, requires a strong creative process to accumulate and create knowledge of historic events.