A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how those examples shape your position.

No national should require that every individual has to learn exactly the same as his or her peers. Public schools and the provision of free education also implies a coherency of educational standards and a national curriculum. However, whereas a national curriculum that is mandatory for every student before entering college might provide equality of educational opportunity, it can also lead to a lack of individuality and development of individual strengths. Following this, a national curriculum might not be the best option for a nations educational sector.

First of all, a national curriculum is mostly highly static and does not change frequently. This might be a problem when technological developments are fast, dynamic and change the need for the labour market. Therefore, the national curriculum might not be as adaptive as it should. For example, even if the Swiss education system is one of the best-ranked systems in the world, every pupil has to learn how to knit - a relict from the early 20th century. But what about engaging with technology, or learn to program code? It is this reluctance and inability to change of a politically defined national curriculum that can result in an aberration from a sustainable, future-oriented educational system. A more flexible curriculum that is open to individual choices and that can vary in a certain degree from school to school might be more competitive and beneficial for the society.

Secondly, not every individual has the same strengths and weaknesses. Some might be better at mathematics, computational science and physics, while others are stronger writing, critical thinking or art. A national curriculum that is the same for every individual for the first 9 years of education does not focus on this individual level but has a strong bias towards the needs of society and history. Following this, the national curriculum does not provide the degree of freedom in educational choices an individual would need to have to fully develop his or her strengths. Adding to this, a fixed curriculum is inherently the antithesis to independent and critical thinking - the state provides and decides what the young students need to know. The lack of independence and freedom of choice in the public education sector can be disadvantageous for many students and, following this, the future society.

However, there might be qualified arguments in favour of a national curriculum. A national curriculum is an egalitarian approach to education, which tries to provide equal opportunities for every child, adolescent and young adult. Adding to that, the state might have a bigger picture and a macroeconomic and macro societal view than the individual who primarily - according to the concept of a homo economicus - maximises his or her utility.

In summary, there are strong arguments to soften the rigidity of a national curriculum to adjust to technological, societal and economical changes. A curriculum that allows a certain freedom of individual choice and independence might be beneficial for the whole nation. Even though the ideal of a national curriculum providing a more level playing field and improve equality is noble ideal, it remains an ideal. A national curriculum has many disadvantageous and may leave everyone worse off.