Claim Though often considered an objective pursuit learning about the historical past requires creativity Reason Because we can never know the past directly we must reconstruct it by imaginatively interpreting historical ac

History has been documented for thousands of years and will remain to be recorded. It is quotidian that school systems implant the knowledge of humanities past through courses in history. Here, the author states that learning the historical past requires a creative approach in order to understand how history unfolded. This claim assumes that the author of the historical context is unbiased and impartial towards that specific issue.

To continue with the last paragraph, there are a myriad of topics that have a variety of views in relation to a point in history, however, some topics tend to be interpreted the same. For example, most people will tend to agree that world war 2 was a result of Germany’s pernicious actions towards eradicating the Jewish population. A tyro to understanding this historical war may question why Hitler arose the prejudices in his followers. Furthermore, the reader may dig deeper into WW2’s research and discover a more profound motive to trigger the war, such as Germany’s invasion of Poland. Creativity and the desire to understand these motives will encourage the student to further research the motive and actions that lead to a specific event.

To further add to the authors reason historical information is never precisely accurate, there may be bias that can alter the way future generations interpret the data. For example, the reader may be swayed by the wording the historian used. A prime example to this is the media’s input to specific events in political debates. They may have quoted a prominent figure, however, only recorded the positive words the candidate stated in order to gain approval. The author believes that the reader should search for the true reasons through objective data not information made by a subjective voice. The learner’s understanding of historical events must involve the creativity and desire to find facts and evidence to gain better insight on the event.

From the last example, it can be apparent that the author of the records of historical events might have different notions and wording that can create partialities to the reader. In relation with the authors claim, creativity drives the researcher to find a more profound answer, with the necessity of scrutinizing facts and evidence behind that event.