The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Leadership is a very much valued competence in today’s society. Whether if you are a student trying to apply for a university or a young worker looking for a job, you are required to give examples to demonstrate your abilities of leadership. Even regarding one’s privet life, he or she would want to be in a leadership position, essentially to have a sense of control and to be the one who makes decisions regarding his or her own life. Then the question arises, how can we prepare own young people for leadership, through a sense of cooperation or competition?

While competition is an essential part of human nature and had most of the time, stimulates us to work harder and become a better self, it has also inevitably caused many undesired consequences. For example, both the first and second world war took place because the nations were focus on competition rather than cooperation. And as a result, numerous innocent people had lost their families and lives, and the effects are still present today. Today, although the leaders of different countries still tend to compete with each other on various levels, such as political systems and economical growth, they emphasize more on cooperation, forming joint organizations such as WTO and the United Nations, and together aiming for a win-win situation.

One person’s strength may be minimal, however, if we gather a group of people, then together they allow us to explore from the deepest sea to the enormous universe, to talk to people on other side of the world and to arrive there in less than a day. Imagine if everyone only focus on competing with others and therefore not willing to share their knowledge, then the humankind will still live in a rudimentary lifestyle deep in the jungle or up in a cave. Cooperation is what makes us better and stronger, as Steve Jobs would not come up with iphone if he did not work with a group of developers; NASA would not build spacecrafts if each and every engineer decided to do it on their own. One person may come up with a brilliant idea, but a group’s effort is needed to fulfill it.

Competition is part of the human nature while cooperation needs to be taught and learned. Therefore, to prepare an individual for leadership in government, industry, or other fields, it is better to instill them a sense of cooperation.