"A jazz music club in Monroe would be a tremendously profitable enterprise. Currently, the nearest jazz club is 65 miles away; thus, the proposed new jazz club in Monroe, the C-Note, would have the local market all to itself. Plus, jazz is extremely popular in Monroe: over 100,000 people attended Monroe's annual jazz festival last summer; several well-known jazz musicians live in Monroe; and the highest-rated radio program in Monroe is 'Jazz Nightly,' which airs every weeknight at 7 P.M. Finally, a nationwide study indicates that the typical jazz fan spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment."

In this argument, the author claims that the new jazz club, C Note will do great business in Monroe, as there is no jazz club around Monroe and people of this place are fond of jazz music. He has cited a lot of evidence in his support. To support this point of view, the arguer has pointed out that the highest-rated radio in Monroe is “Jazz Nightly”. He has also talked about a nationwide survey to show that a a typical jazz jazz fan spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment. Though the underlying reason sounds good and reasonable, because of a lack of relevant evidence, unaddressed assumptions, and vague terminology, the author’s argument is unsubstantiated and deeply flawed.

First and foremost, author assumes the C Note would have all local market to itself, because the nearest jazz club is 65 miles away from Monroe. However, he has not thought of any reasons that why there is no jazz club in Monroe. There might be chances that someone has opened the club previously but due to only few customers and few earning, it was closed. In addition to this, the nearest 65 miles club may be dominating the local market of Monroe and citizens of Monroe may like to drive the 65 miles and enjoy the facilities of the high reputed club. Hence, author has failed to established relations between his proposed club and C Note club.

Secondly, the author made a hasty generalisation. He simply assumes that over 100000 people attended Monroe's jazz festival and the high-rated radio program is "Jazz Nightly", C Note will automatically make lots of money. The author has nowhere mention about the propotion of native people who attended this festival last summer. There is possibility that this summer festival was attended by the tourist as the summer time is the prime time for the tourists. There might be a chances that people in Monroe are not that rich to pay for these jazz clubs instead they may prefer to listen over radio as author has also mentioned about the radio program which airs every weeknight at 7 P.M.

Finally, the author supported his argument with a nationwide study that indicates that the typical jazz fan spends close to $1,000 per years on jazz entertainment. However, if a jazz fan spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment it does not mean that he will spend money on going to a jazz club. He may buys jazz CD, DVD, and to see live jazz play.

Hence, the argument lacks thorough analysis and reliable statistic. The author should have investigated the actual number of people going to the Jazz club. It would have strengthened the argument.