"The birthrate in our city is declining: in fact, last year's birthrate was only one-half that of five years ago. Thus the number of students enrolled in our public schools will soon decrease dramatically, and we can safely reduce the funds budgeted for e

The author in the argument assumes that the adult population of the city expectation to increase as the birthrate in our country us declining and concludes that committee will have sufficient money to fund city programs and facilities used by adults. The author’s assumption mainly based on the reduction in birthrate that causes the number of students enrolling for public schools will decrease dramatically and committee can safely reduce funds for next decade for education . The argument possess many unanswered questions and hence, is not corroborating. The argument has several serious flaws in it.

Firstly, the author in the argument assumes, “Because of this, therefore, after this” fallacy without provinding cogent evidence. The author wrongly assumes that as the birthrate in the city is declining, the number of students enrolling in the school will also decrease. It may be possibility that, the city was not developed five years ago and there was lack of education awareness and students were hesitant to enroll there names in the public schools. And today, there is vast awareness about education, ultimately students enrolled in large quantity than before which causes more demand of funds to public education system than before. If this case is possible, the conclusion of the argument reach to fiasco.

Secondly, the author in the argument assumes hat correlation proves causality. Although this analogy sometimes true but not always. The author assumes that student population decreases in public schools , consequently, participation in different school activities will also decline. Can it always possible? It may be the case that students in later age are more active than before and hence there participation also greater than that few years ago which led to high money demand for school activities.

Finally, there is not cogent and convincing evidence provided by the author in the argument that as the funds require for public student decreases, the same amount will available for adults activities. Moreover, it may be case than adults population would constant and have decreased due to increased death ratio due to certain causes like pollution in city , diseases, etc. If this possibility is comes to be true, what happen, the author prediction goes to failure and consequently, conclusion and assumption,too.

In summary, the author in the argument is full of flaws and lack of statistical data and population statistics of the students enrolled to public school five years later and before. In addition , the author assumes wrongly that correlation proves causality and used fallacy “ because of this, after this, therefore”. The author in the arguemtn could make this conclusion well sounding and compelling by furnishing relevant propaganda about awareness of education in school later and before five years ago , activity of students in participation in school activities, adults fund relation to that of public students, etc.