8. "Last year the number of students who enrolled in online degree programs offered by nearby Omni University increased by 50 percent. During the same year, Omni showed a significant decrease from prior years in expenditures for dormitory and classroom space, most likely because online instruction takes place via the Internet. In contrast, over the past three years, enrollment at Humana University has failed to grow and the cost of maintaining buildings has increased. Thus, to increase enrollment and solve the problem of budget deficits at Humana University, we should initiate and actively promote online degree programs like those at Omni."

In a memorandum from the president of Humana Univerdity, it is stated that last year the number of students who enrolled in online degree programs offered by nearby Omni University increased by 50 percent. During the same year, Omni showed a significant decrease from prior years in expenditures for dormitory and classroom space, most likely because online instruction takes place via the Internet. On the contrary, enrollment at Humana University has failed to grow over the past 3 years and the cost of maintaining buildings has increased. So in order to increase enrollment and solve the problem of budget deficits at Humana University, they plan to emulate and promote the online degrees like those at Omni. Before the argument is further analyzed, three questions have to answered.

Firstly, has there been a decrease in the expenditure for dormitory and classroom space from the prior years since the advent of online degree programs? The above comment has been stated by the author explicity and has no supporting evidence like statistics and surveys showcasing the fact that there has been a decrease in the expenditure at Omni University on starting to offer the online degree programs. So due to this, the initial conclusion in the above argument has been significantly weakened.

Secondly, has there been a decrease in the enrollment at Humana University over the past three years and due to this, has the cost of maintenance increase? There has been no supporting evidence in the form of statistics and surveys advocating the above author's argument that there has been a decrease in the enrollment at the university. And there might be a plethora of reasons why the cost of maintenance at Humana University has been increased over the past years with the decrease in enrollment not being the only conern. So without proper study into this due to a lack evidence such as surveys, the above argument does not hold water.

Thirdly, will the initiation of the online degree programs similar to those of Omni University increase enrollment and solve the problem of budget deficits at Humana University? The author's claim from the above lines is slightly vague. The author is trying to base an analogy between the two universities with respect to cutting funds for an increased expenditure without prior evidence such as surveys and statistics basing a similarirty between these two universities. With no proper information and supporting facts, the adaptation of the online degree programs at Humana from that of Omni might not hold firm.

In conclusion, as the author's argument has been more like a subjective claim and failed to provide proper evidence in the form of surveys and statistics, the author might not be right in his claim and the above argument does not hold firm.