4 Several recent surveys indicate that home owners are increasingly eager to conserve energy At the same time manufacturers are now marketing many home appliances such as refrigerators and air conditioners that are almost twice as energy efficient as thos

According to the above statement recent survey shows that homeowners are eagerly willing to conserve the energy as well as for this manufacturer are now supplying the home appliances that are twice as efficient in energy conservation as compared to those which were sold a decade ago. Here, in the above argument it is claim that energy demand will not increase but it will further decrease. To be valid the author must provide more evidence or answer to some of the following questions.

It, at first, cannot be claim that energy demand will decrease without postulating worthy supportive evidence. People of that area may have different economic condition: all people can't afford to buy those appliances which are more efficient also cannot afford to that new technologies which are readily available for home heating. Hence, if the overall economic statistics of the people had been made clear than it would support the stated statement but due to lack of these crucial facts it is undermined.

Furthermore, it was not mentioned that how many homeowners were eager to conserve the energy or aware about the conservation of energy. without knowing this, it cannot assume that energy demand will decrease because for this the data including the number of homeowners interested in energy saving and not interested in energy saving is required: if there are higher people who were not aware about the consequences of the excessive use of energy then as a result more energy will be wasted. Besides these all, if this assumption become true there will be also need for the construction of new generating plants.

Lastly, manufacturers are marketing the appliances which are almost twice (not actually twice) as energy efficient as those sold a decade ago. Since, it lacks the clarification because it fails to answer the question that the appliance which were used before were how much energy efficient. Therefore, it is not clear that whether the developed machines are actually able to conserve twice energy or not, so the statement become obscure.

In conclusion, since there has been a dearth of proper evidence supporting the above lines, the argument doesn't hold firm and is considered as vague and flawed.