The following appeared as part of a letter to the editor of a scientific journal.

"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

Author of the argument assumes that, the birth order of an individual is responsible for the production of cortisol hormone, during the excitation or simulation. The author provides a study of 18 rhesus monkeys to bolster his argument. He then further give examples of firstborn infant monkey and firstborn humans for comparison. Also, he had given an example of first-time mother monkeys. Here, the author has provided the study of only 18 monkeys, that very insufficient data to reach the conclusion. Further, when we analyze this argument, it is flawed.https://wordcounter.net/track/subbanner

Firstly, the author assumes that due to the birth order, the level of cortisol doubles, in firstborn infant monkeys, in simulating situations. But there can be other factors responsible for the production of cortisol other than the birth control. It is possible that the age is the main factor for the production of cortisol. So the study should be conducted in such a way that, the tested firstborn infant monkeys, should be of the same ages. For example, when the firstborn infant monkey is of 5 weeks the study should conducted for him, similarly to the second infant of the family, when is of 5 weeks and so on. This study will give a more clear idea, that is whether birth order is responsible or not for the production of cortisol.

Further, the author has provided the example of the firstborn human. But the author has given poor comparison here because the two stated instances are for different populations. Still, the alternatively suggested study should be applied to test the production of cortisol in firstborn humans too. Also, the study should be conducted on a large number of the human population to find a valid conclusion.

Additionally, the author has given the example of a first-time mother. The author assumes that the first time the mother has a higher level of cortisol than the mother having several offspring. Here the assumption is flawed because the level of cortisol is indirectly indicated to the firstborn infant of a mother. But other than these factors might be responsible for the level of cortisol, might be age again. Therefore, the study should be conducted with the same age first-time mothers and with the same age mothers having several offsprings to find the differences.

In conclusion, the argument is flawed because not sufficient data is provided, and the poor comparison of the different populations. The alternative explanation provided might reach a conclusion in a more cogent way. Also, the study should be conducted with a sufficiently large amount of monkeys and humans to reach the proper conclusion. A well researched and tested study will confirm the argument.