"Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, for the past several decades, food-processing companies have also been adding salicylates to foods as preservatives. This rise in the commercial use of salicylates has been found to correlate with a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by participants in our twenty-year study. Recently, food-processing companies have found that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods. With this new use for salicylates, we can expect a continued steady decline in the number of headaches suffered by the average citizen of Mentia."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author of the argument concludes that with the new use of salicylates as a food preservative and flavor additives for food will continue a steady decline in the number of headaches suffered by the citizens of Mentia. The author has provided some assumptions to bolster his argument. The argument seems to be valid at first glance but when we analyze the argument in detail, this argument is not logically convincing, as it is rife with holes and unwarranted assumptions.

Firstly, the author state that salicylates are from the same chemical family as Aspirin, here the author made a bad comparison because it is not necessary that aspirin and salicylates must have same properties even though they belong to the same chemical family there outcomes might be different. It is not mentioned by the author about the chemical composition of the salicylates, its severity to treat the headache, and about the side effects of salicylates if taken in high dosages. Thus, the author should provide more information about the salicylates, its composition and effects on health of an individual to strengthen the argument.

Additionally, the author states that many foods are naturally rich in salicylates and many food processing companies are adding salicylates to the foods as a preservative, but he failed to mention which food has salicylates and to which food the companies are adding the salicylates. Also, the amount of salicylates composition is not mentioned anywhere. Therefore this assumption is flawed, here the author should provide more information about the foods containing salicylates and composition of it.

Further, the author claim that because of the rise in the commercial use of salicylates there is a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by participants. This assumption may be flawed on the statistical grounds because the author does not mention anything about the study conducted, whether it was conducted for 100 people or for the 1000 people. Moreover, it is assumed that the decline in headaches is due to rise of salicylates but there might be other factors responsible for it, such as, the people are practicing meditation, they might taking additional treatments for headaches, and it is also possible that they might be applying some ointment to relieve pain. Unless this information is not provided the argument is not fully verified and reliable.

Lastly, the author states that food-processing companies are adding salicylates as flavor additives for foods. Even if they add it in food, there might be still other factors responsible for their headaches. For instance, people are possibly stressed due to their workloads, there might be a heredity problem for some people, and because there is a lot of noise pollution in the city they get affected by headaches. If these are the factors responsible for their headaches then it is possible that the people will suffer from headache further also, thus adding salicylates to food is not a good move. The author should provide the exact reasons for headache of the people.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands, now is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author mentions further about the composition of salicylates, other factors responsible for the reduction in headaches, etc then it will be possible to fully evaluate the reliability of the proposed conclusion.