The following appeared in the summary of a study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia.

"Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, for the past several decades, food-processing companies have also been adding salicylates to foods as preservatives. This rise in the commercial use of salicylates has been found to correlate with a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by participants in our twenty-year study. Recently, food-processing companies have found that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods. With this new use for salicylates, we can expect a continued steady decline in the number of headaches suffered by the average citizen of Mentia."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author of the above text presents a summary on headaches suffered by the residents of City. She claims that, overtime, we can expect a continued, steady decline in the number of headaches suffered by the average citizen. However, the argument makes several assumptions, which, if proven unwarrented, places the entire argument in jeopardy.

In the text, the author claims that a 20-year-long study has shown a correlation between an increase in commercial use of the drug and a decrease in the average number of reported headaches. However, as any competent researcher knows, correlation does not equal causation; and, one must not assume it does! There is a plethura of different plausible reasons that could account for such a correlation. For example, it might be true that many of the participants in this 20-year long study were suffering from headaches, but then started to see an improvement in their health. The partipants could have started taking medicine, such as aspirin, for their headaches. Or, participants might have started to workout or get better sleep. If the medicine, exercise or sleep, helped alleviate the particpants’ headaches, of course one would see an average decline in the number of reported headaches!

Another unstated assumption is that people were reporting consistently. It is very likely that, at first, participants were consistently reporting each and every headache they experienced. However, life happens; and people can get used to and hopeless toward their chronic health issues, and be tempted to not report their headaches at all. This process, overtime, would certainly skew the data.

Finally, the last unstated assumption I’ll mention is that the text merely assumes that the participants in the study are actually representative of the average citizen of City. The author offers no reason to believe that this 20-year-long study is to be seriously considered as factual. Therefore, we cannot assume that anything reported from this study indicates anything helpful in regard to the average citizen of City.

The above summary of the study fails to give adequate reasons to seriously consider it.