It is more harmful to compromise one's own beliefs than to adhere to them.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

This topic raises the controversial issue that compromising one's own beliefs is more harmful than adhering to them. Indisputably, there are times in which it would be appropriate to comprise one's own belief, especially when facts expose one's own belief to be harmful or incorrect. Nevertheless, if one were to live as though personal beliefs had negligible merit and required frequent reassessing, one would find oneself living a life of incessant indecision. Thus, I generally agree with the opinion that it is more harmful to compromise one's own belief, and I would agree that it is most beneficial to adhere to one's personal beliefs.

First of all, an adherence to personal beliefs indicates maturity. As one demonstrates the ability to live according to one's well-thought out principles, ons is able to avoid making harmful and baseless decisions. To illustrate, consider the young professional who has arrived at the belief that he must avoid getting into debt if his goal is to save money for retirement. Through his life he is constantly tempted to accept loans and over-spend; but, instead of compromising his belief, he saves enough money to retire early. In this circumstance, obviously succumbing to a consumeristic culture and becoming a spendthrift would have been a bad decision, give his goal to save money. Consequently, it is clear that following his conviction to avoid debt was the better option and the mature way to live.

Furthermore, if regularly compromising one's own beliefs was clearly the least harmful course of action, there would be little value in personal beliefs in the first place. Specifically, consider the live of harm that would endanger an entrepreneur were she to constantly be forsaking her beliefs on how to run a business. Both common sense and personal experience demonstrates her business would suffer from a paucity of direction, and therefore be diminished of its value and production. Hence, all evidence above demonstrates that it is generally necessary to follow one's own convictions to avoid suffering the consequences of indecision and limited productivity.

Admittedly, there are certain circumstances for which the better decision would require one to compromise his own beliefs. This is true especially when one's beliefs lack logic or reason, and are generally not well though-out. In addition one would be remiss to never consider other beliefs or challenge his own assumptions. However, the above argument does not constitute sufficient support to claim that it is more harmful to adhere to one's beliefs than to compromise them. The circumstance for which it is more harmful to adhere to one's beliefs are fewer than the many more circumstances that require one to stay true to his beliefs.

In conclusion, although there is a small number of situations where it would benefit one to compromise his beliefs, it is overall less harmful to honor one's beliefs. As long as one's beliefs are well-thought out and reasonable, adhering to one's beliefs will prove less harmful than constantly living in a state of compromise. In fact, staying true to one's beliefs leads to a better life in general.