Green tea has long been hailed as an excellent source of antioxidants, powerful anti-aging and immune-system boosting compounds. Many people therefore believe that the more cups they consume each day, the greater the benefits. Green tea, however, contains moderate amounts of caffeine, a stimulant that is not without side effects, including sleeplessness, irritability, and headaches. A long-term study has found that those who drink more than three cups of green tea a day are likely to have symptoms similar to those that chronic coffee drinkers, another source of caffeine, suffer. Therefore, it is important that anyone who chooses to drink green tea limit their intake to no more than two cups a day.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of the above text claims that people, if they wish to avoid undesirable caffeine symptoms, should not drink more than two cups of coffee per day. While this assertion might very well be reasonable and factual, the author fails to provide sufficient evidence to support such a claim.

A long-term study is cited to support the subsequent claim; however, instead of stating facts from the study, the author uses vague and unconvincing language to outline what they long-term study had apparently discovered. Had the author specified how long the study lasted, the claim could be more easily evaluated. For example, if the study only lasted a week, its results could be found questionable. Sure, the study's participants who drank more than three cups of green tea a day might have suffered symptoms related to caffeine over-consumption; but how long would these symptoms last? It is surprisingly easy for a dependence on caffeine to develope. And, those who have a caffeine dependence, in fact, need to drink even more caffeine to notice any effect at all.

Additionally, in evaluating the claim, it would be helpful for the text to provide the specific circumstances under which the caffeine drinkers were drinking the green tea. For example, were the drinks of green tea spread throughout the day? Was the tea consumed with a meal? It would strengthen the claim if the study participants had had their green tea after waking up, and then three more taken with breakfast, lunch and dinner, as the researches would have demonstrated that the participants were not drinks four glasses of tea before bed. Such a behavior would obviously induce sleeplessness.

Lastly, had the argument discussed how healthy the study participants were, the claim would have been better supported. Caffeine effects healthy and unhealthy people very differently.

These questions and others are important to consider when evaluating whether or not green tea consumption should be limited to no more than two cups a day.