The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

This issue outlines a rather controversial teaching philosophy. The above statement claims that it is best to praise only positive actions while ignoring negative ones. Admittedly, this approach sounds like a good alternative to teaching that only focuses on correcting negative behavior. However, the best way to teach is one that strikes a balance between the two. Indeed, it is ideal to praise positive actions, while still correcting negative behavior.

Although, the difference between positive and negative actions might seem obvious to normal adults, children who come from an abuse family, one in which negative behavior is rampant, cannot easily discern right from wrong. Consider the children at my wife’s learning center. Many of the children there have witnessed grievous actions to such a great extent that, to them, many actions that a normal adult would consider negative, they consider positive. For example, children from abuse or negligent family’s have discovered that crying and throwing a temper tantrum is advantageous, as the negligent parents often gives in once he or she is tired of hearing the screaming child. If this negative behavior is not corrected at an early age, it can carry on in to adulthood. Therefore, it is best to correct negative actions when they happen, even while praising positive behavior.

Additionally, children have a more difficult time distinguishing between what is right and wrong. Compared to a grown adult’s pre-frontal cortex, a child’s is much smaller. It is not unheard in many day-care settings to see a child avoid other children who are different. This subtle behavior is not obviously wrong, but it does cause harm to the ostracized child. Therefore, it would be behoove the teacher to correct the behavior by demonstrating that children should embrace their differences, not merely ignore and avoid those whom the children deem different.

It is important for teachers to know when a child’s actions need to be corrected or praised. Children learn well with interaction, even if the interaction is corrective in nature. Ultimately, teachers should strike a balance between praising positive behavior and correcting negative actions. After all, this approach is what is best for the child.