Understanding the past is of little use to those in current positions of leadership.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The above statement outlines complicated issue of whether or not it is important for a leader to understand the past. Indisputably, anyone in a position of leadership ought to have a clear understanding of the present. Without this clear understanding, a leader could not know how to best utilize her influential position. Likewise, a leader must have a vivid understanding of what the future might look like. A CEO cannot lead a company without first a promising indicator of future success. Similar, it is vitally important for any person in leadership to have a strong understanding of the past, so that that knowledge can be used for the good of those whom she serves.

First of all, consider my former place of employment, H-E-B Grocery Company, a popular grocery store in the state of Texas. For the majority of my time at this company, my store struggled financially. The store's managers could not manage to increase their store's revenue and were eventually let go. When the new store managers stepped in to their positions of leadership they sought to understand what had been done in the past to increase sales. Within just a year's time, the two new managers utilized past sales data, customer review, etc. to increase the stores sales. Therefore, it is obvious that a person in leadership could use the past to positively influence her environment.

Second, consider my mother who helped a struggling emergency room get back on their feet. Like, the H-E-B managers, she did her best to understand the past, specifically, in the way that the ER had opporated before. With the knowledge of the ER's past difficulties she was able to understand the problems of the past, and pave the path forward for a better future.

Although, some peole might believe that it is not important to understand and use the past. And there is some truth to this claim. It is very important to understand current problems. However, one must not neglect the past. The above examples demonstrate how the past is, in fact, very useful to people in positions of leadership.