Leaders are created by the demands that are placed on them.

The world is filled with leaders, men and women, alike, who have their stories of how they became leaders. Indisputibly, some leaders are created by the demands that are placed on them. Any president from the moment she or he takes office becomes the leader of our nation, as our problems, needs and other demands are placed on the shoulders of the newest president. However, there are many other people who become leaders, not by any demands being placed on them. Indeed, many people become leaders by the demands they place on themselves.

First, consider Jeff Bezos, the CEO of Amazon. Before he started Amazon, Bezos worked on Wallstreet, and made a six figure income. He did not have to create Amazon; in fact, no demands was placed on him other than the demands which he placed on his self. For example, he borrowed one hundred thousands dollars of his parents money, which they acquired with the sell of their home. From his parent’s investments, he built the great company of Amazon that we know and love today, and became a great leader and entrepreneur.

Additionally, consider Dave Ramsey, debt critic and famous radio personality. Other than the poor circumstances in which he found himself, Ramsey did not have any demands placed on him. After accumulating almost four million dollars in real estate, Ramsey lost everything due to a change in laws. His lenders took everything he owned, and it inspired him to never owe anything to anyone ever again. He became the great leader of The Ramsey Corporation by the demands he placed on himself, not because others placed demands on him.

To conclude, although some leaders are created by the demands that are placed on them by others (for example, politicians and world leaders), many become leaders because their own demands placed on themselves. These great leaders had high expectations of themselves, and therefore became the inspiring leaders we know today.