Green tea has long been hailed as an excellent source of antioxidants powerful anti aging and immune system boosting compounds Many people therefore believe that the more cups they consume each day the greater the benefits Green tea however contains

The argument states that while green tea has been long hailed as a excellant source of antioxidants, powerful anti-aging and immune-system boosting compounds, it is has its own detrimental effects when consumed in large quantities, hence limiting the intake to no more than two cups a day is recommended. The argument also provides evidence that green tea contains moderate amounts of caffeine, a stimulant with side effects such as sleeplessness, irritability, and headaches and a long-term study has found that those who drink more than three cups of green tea a day are likely to have symptoms similar to those that chronic coffee drinkers, another source of caffeine, suffer. To properly evaluate the arguments, more evidence is required, depending upon which the argument can be weakened or strengthened for the following three reasons.

To begin, the argument states that green tea has been hailed by people for its benefits, yet there is not enough evidence suggesting the qualifications of these proponents. It could be possible that green tea was marketed to the general public through clever marketing campaigns to make people assume that green tea has many beneficial side effects. It could also be possible for green tea to have similar properties as regular tea with minor alterations to make it resemble a different product. There is no evidence or scientific studies conducted on a group of studies exhibited proclaimed beneficial side effects.

Secondly, the argument states that many people therefore believe that the more cups they consume each day, the greater the benefits. As stated earlier, there is no evidence provided that indicates the consumption rate of green tea. This statement may have been derived by analyzing the demand and supply curve of green tea from local supermarkets or positive responses gathered by many consumers of green tea that they adopt green tea into their diet, often as many times as possible to boost it's benefits. However, a increasing supply and demand curve could have been result of more wide reached marketing campaigns, thus many people trying out green tea as an one-off instance.

Furthermore, the statement indicates that green tea contain a moderate amount of caffeine and that caffeine regardless of amount consumed imparts side effects such as sleeplessness, irritability, and headaches. There is no evidence provided that green tea contains caffeine to begin and no information regarding the amount of the caffeine that needs to be consumed in order to exhibit these side effects. However, the argument states that a long-term study conducted on people who drink more than three cups of green tea a day are likely to have symptoms similar to those that chronic coffee drinkers. More evidence is required to corroborate the validity of the study such as the subject's traits, pecularities, eating habits, diets and pattern of symptoms relating of caffeine exhibited as these help us confirm the wide range of subjects participants and indicating that regardless of other factors, green tea is the main culprit for these symptoms.

To sum, the argument states that green tea intake should be moderated to less than two cups a day based on insufficient evidence and more evidence/ scientific data and study results due to the reasons mentioned above such as, the long term study participants health data, eating habits, pecularity to understand the range of participants involved. Data suggesting that many people do actually believe and consume as many cups of green tea per day as possible. Data backing up the facts that green tea in fact does contain enough amount of caffeine to induce side effects exhibited by chronic coffee drinkers and has been hailed to have many beneficial side effects.