Although sound moral judgment is an important characteristic of an effective leader it is not as important as a leader s ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers

A leader's responsibility is to lead effectively and not strive to maintain respect of his or her peers. Their actions gain and maintain them their deserved respect.

The role of leader in today's society is to successfully and effectively guide teams under them to accomplish tasks within stipulated deadlines. The more effective the leader, the greater his or her ability to draw their team's innate talents and work as a well oiled machine. Such a role is challenging and, demanding, thus requiring the leader to possess a wide set of skills which include sound moral judgement; an ability to remain steadfast and unequivocal during high pressure scenarios which all teams face often.

As an old saying goes, "Respect is gained through actions". Any individual chosen as an leader is owed to the experience in that field and this knowledge is well known to those under his or her command. Also, leader's position is not one of prestige, rather of duty. During their time as leader, if a leader focuses on maintaining his or her respect only, it indicates their desire to further lengthen the role's duration hence defeating the purpose of why they were chosen as a leader which was to guide their command to completing their objectives. A leader striving to maintain respect can be viewed as selfish when their leader implies the meaning of selfless as a good saying goes "A effective leader is a pillar of support and not a pedastal to stand upon". A leader striving for maintaing respect, loses sight of their command's objectives and why they become a leader in the first place.

Although, sometimes a leader will first have to cultivate and maintain respect first before anything else in situations where their team seeks or only respects those proven when in command. This mindset can be considered old and is embeded in those that believe "Power means respect or the strongest is the alpha". This is a rare scenario and apt for those and nowhere else.

To summarize, a leader's role is to lead those under their command and their actions will garner the respect naturally. A leader's role is selfless and when it becomes selfish, the team effectiveness begins to take a hit.