The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government industry or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation not competition Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree wi

Leadership roles in today's society is a stressful job. It involves the role bearers to be capable of handling internal and external affairs and strifes. Internal affairs such as discontentment within the team etc. and external affairs such as satisfying stakeholders and promising results while drawing the resources necessary for a team to function. Both these situations require training and prior exposure to help the future leaders better handle. With this in mind, I somewhat agree that while cooperation is important, a powerful tool such as competition should not be dismissed easily for the following two reasons.

Cooperation is the act of the working together as a unit rather than individually to accomplish goals quickly and more efficiently. This requires the group to trust each other and understand each other at an individual level. Studies have shown that team work best, when they cover for each other and work in a similar fashion to a relay team in the olympics. Each of the runners are individual members of the team, they learn to trust the runner ahead to catch the baton without missing and pass it forward. Similarly, the runner ahead will learn to trust that the baton will reach him or her in time and cleanly. However, a leader leading the relay does not necessarily participate in the race, rather they guide from the sidelines - a coach. Runners trust each other during the race and they also trust the coach to have guided and supported them to be prepared for the race without worrying about any other complications. Hence, a leader is merely a torch bearer, pointing the way forward. This kind of attitude can be instilled better in young, future people by having them learn to cooperate.

A leader is an individual capable of making tough calls and working constantly in a stressed environment, balancing both internal and external affairs. A leader's role can be compared to that of a firefighter - both are putting out fires on the job, metaphorically in the case of the leader. This capacity to handle stressful situations must be grown in individuals overtime rather than abruptly, as it might cause them to breakdown. A comparison to this can be drawn to a soldier training for battle. It is said that a soldier typically in an army now-a-days spends most of their time training rather than being in combat and more so often, they are given real-life scenario training exercises. This helps them in fighting the nerves or fight or flight response that innately kicking into soldiers when they are dropped into real life combat situations.

Keeping training in mind, while not a tool fit for all cases, competition is widely regarded as one of the best forms of teaching to handle stressful scenarios. They induce anxiety, similar to a college student on test date or a person taking a job interview to progress his or her career. This tool called competition, while a little too much of it as well cause mental breakdown. It can be considered to be the whetstone in sharping swords - the swords being the students. Sharpened too much, it causes the swords to be brittle, sharpened too less, it makes the swords dull.

To sum, to develop young leaders, instilling a sense of cooperation helps them better learn to work with a team as their coach or guide and competition cannot be disregarded as it a effective tool to teach leaders to handle stressful situtations. However, similar to any tool, used too much or use too little, do not the yield the required results.