The best leaders are those who encourage feedback from the people whom they lead Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take In developing and sup

Leaders of today's society are tasked with leading their team to accomplish goals and tasks laid out. The best of leaders are individuals highly respected for their abilities by both, within the team and outside it. Due to the very nature of difficulties of this role, there are good practices that have been proved to enable oneself to be an effective leader and one such practise is to be open to criticism and acknowledge valid opinions and reasonings provided by their team. With that in mind, I agree with the prompt that the best leaders are those who encourage feedback from the people whom they lead based on the two reasons provided below.

No one is perfect, everyone has flaws unique to themselves similar to their good qualities. These are generally attributed under broad categories such as honest, straightforward etc. but all qualities - good or bad, are a gradual development on a person's psyche based on their life experiences. For example, a person who is considered candid would have been taught from childhood that "lying is bad" etc. and also, he or she may have experienced situations where they felt that did the right thing by being honest; experiences such as these groom a person's character and continue to grow throughout their lives. In that regard, leaders are no expection, they may have been tasked to lead a team based on their management skills or personal qualifications but, everyone has a starting point somewhere. No matter how well prepared they may have been through the courses they have taken on leadership skills, seminars they have attended, practical exposure is always the best teacher. And, one of the best ways to become a more effective leader and judge your personal progress to be open to criticism and value your team's opinion. After all, at the end of the day, a leader's role is to serve as an advocate, bring out the best output of the team as a whole and guide them to their goals and results.

Leaders who are open to critisim are thought of to be more engaging with their team and leave the impression of being responsive and understanding rather than the mark of being dictatorial, almost. Studies from time to time have proven and suggested that a leader who engages with their team during team meetings in terms of gathering opinions and advice or small chit chat in and around office have been considered more friendly, likeable and approachable by their team. This allows the team to work in a more stress free and comfortable environment that brings out the best cooperation and best results.

While it can be argued that being too open to criticism may cause you to mislead as it may give off the impression that you are too suggestible and people under your command may take advantage of this trait. One must learn to balance the both, as in, be open to criticism while at the same time, know when to put their foot down during stressful and demanding situations. After all, a leader should also be well versed in the arts of dodging workplace politics and serve as a moral guiding compass to their team in times of distress.

To sum, the best leaders are those who encourage feedback from the people whom they lead, while it is recommended for them to be open to criticism and opinions given, they should learn to balance both sides of the scale so as to not appear suggestive in nature.