Understanding the past is of little use to those in current positions of leadership

History or past is a great teacher; it narrates the problems faced, the solutions opted to resolve the problem, the triumphs and the failures, denoting why they failed in the first place. Human lifespan is short, albeit an average of 60 - 70 years, it is not enough to have enough experiences and knowledge to tackle every scenario. People aged well above the average are often dumbfounded by the advancements in science and society that they find themselves in a ever-lasting learning curve. Leaders of today's society are responsible for guiding those under their command to a better future; thus, indicating the tremendous responsibility placed on their shoulders and the experience and knowledge required to successfully perform their duties is of great importance - the past plays a very important role here. Understanding the past is important for any aspiring leaders as past or history is a great teacher.

Mistakes and failures; though shunned upon and troublesome, they are also a part of an individual's success. Any individual that claims to not have failed, can be regarded as an idealist or can be interpreted as afraid of failure. Problems and mistakes are perennial throughout human history, no one man can claim they are experiencing a problem that no one else has - well established documents showcase the problems faced by all great leaders of their time, Julius Ceasar, Napolean etc. are prime examples of this case. While it is arguable that no modern day man experiences a problem faced by Julius Ceasar, the life portrayed by history showcases numerous problems he encountered and always some similarities could be drawn from them to modern day problems such as today's politics.

Those in leadership roles are required to have a well rounded personality capable of being unflappable in any scenario. However, this is only possible provided the individual is experienced in tackling those said scenarios and this experience can be provided free of cost by past. Although, this can also be argued that those in leadership positions have a unique set of tasks that are set to be achieved, a.k.a their team goals and the people under their leadership need not necessary resemble an army of soliders that fought in great battles. But, all teams at the end of the day are formed by humans , and humans throughout history can be argued to have more or less a finite set of possible emotional spectrum and any leader from any time in history would have had to manage and guide their command to accomplish their tasks using strategies and techniques that are tried, proved and perfected by them. If that is the case, why would it not be a great idea to learn from them?

Humans have subconsiously shown to learn from other's mistakes and successes as well as their own experiences to maximise their sucess rate in any scenario that is not luck dependant. Hence, history is beign taught from a young age in all school curriculum across the world.

To sum, human history or the past is a rich record filled with anecdotes that can convey experiences quicker than having to experience them. Any aspiring leaders and current leaders will benefit a great deal from learning other mistakes, successes and their stories and form a well rounded personality that can help them tackle any problems they may face during their time.