Super Screen MoviesThe following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company According to a recent report from our marketing department during the past year fewer people attended Super Screen produced

The memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company is recommending that Super Screen should allocate a greater share of its budget next year in advertising to reach the public better. This statement is backed up by the arguments that the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers for specific movies have increased while pointing at a decrease in people attending these movies, thus implying that the public's lack of awareness of these good quality movies is evident. However, before proceeding with this recommendation, the following three questions must be answered.

What are the types of movies produced by Super Screen movies? As in, what genre are these movies and was this genre in the trend to watch for movie-goers that year? Though the questions are compounding, they mean the same thing - Do the movies produced by Super-Screen that year match with the audience's interest? The result of fewer people attending the movies may be due to the fact that their interests were different. It could also be due to the fact that the movies were released at the same time as other major anticipated blockbusters. Movie-goers watch movies for entertainment and usually have a set budget for this activity, Super Screen movies may have ignored to capture the audience's attention.

How was the marketing of the release of the movie done? What do the tracked metrics from the promotion of movies say? The statement does not provide enough information on whether the promotion of the movies happened or how sucessful they were even if they had happened in the past year. It could be that the movie-goers were simply unware of the existence of this movie existing, thus failing to catch the hype, hence losing box office revenue. Movies now-a-days, no matter the genre always have an associated movie trailer or pre-screen viewing and measure the success of a movie based on the responses gathered from such sources ahead of movie release time.

What are the demographics of the movie reviewers? How popular are said reviewers and what platform did they use to convey they opinions? The statement bluntly states that percentage of positive reviews from movie reviewers has increased for specific movies. This may be a case of artificial inflation of reviews by the people who worked in the said movie, their supporting families and friends who wanted to do their part in promoting the movie made by someone they knew. The platform from which the metric was gathered may not popular to a wider range of audiences even if the reviews were genuine. For example, movie reviewers may have forums and threads were they discuss and promote a movie instead of popular sites like Rotten Tomatoes for instance which majority use.

The statement also states that the problem lies with the lack of public awareness to good quality movies produced by Super Screen. However, it does not provide the information necessary to gauge the authenticity of the reviews nor information about marketing and promotion pre-release of the movies. The question of what movies were released at the same time as Super Screen produced movies also remains?

To sum, while the statement says that primary reason for implied box office failure of the movies is not due to the quality of movies made, rather the public's awareness of the said movies. It recommends that a greater share of its budget next year must be allocated to reaching the public through advertising. However, the questions stated above which help identify the exact reason for lack of public awareness must be answered prior to proceeding with the recommendation.