The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station Over the past year our late night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news During this period most of the complaints

The memorandum provided by the business manager of a television station states that to avoid losing any further advertising revenues and decreasing viewer complaints, more air time needs to be alloted for local news and weather report during the late-night news program. This statement is backed up by the facts that the station received a lot of complaints regarding lack of coverage of weather and local news and local businesses that used to advertise during late-night news programs have canceled their advertising contracts. However, to properly evaluate this argument, the evidence provided is insufficient for the following reasons.

To begin, the argument infers that the complaints received regarding lack of station's coverage of weather and local news is specifically due to the fact that late-night program has devoted increased time for national news. This statement also assumes that people tuning into the channel always do so for the local news and weather reports.This increase in complaints may be due to the fact that when viewership is at its peak during the weekday's and weekends, there is not enough local news or weather reports. These peak hours vary between weekday's and weekends - an average joe might tune into the channel specifically at evening from 6:00 - 8:00 PM or morning before going to work at 6:00 - 7:00 AM and in the weekends it could anytime from midday to night. Also, weather reports may not be useful to an average person throughout the day, they might require weather report before heading to work or school in the morning to check if an umbrella might be needed. Hence, to properly evaluate the business manager's statement about the complaints received,details such as peak viewership times, viewer requirements, complaint time logs etc have to be provided.

Secondly, the argument states that local businesses that used to advertise have cancelled their contract and points the reason to the lack of local news and weather report. Although, the advertisement cancellation could be a cause of the local businesses finding other forms of advertisement to be more in tune with their customers and as stated, they might have simply cancelled their contracts because they have done a market survey and found out that their customer's prime time or television viewing times are not primarily late-night. Local businesses may have also switched their contracts with any other channels in pursuit of better rates thus could be an indication of requirement of revision of advertising fees. Hence, to properly evalute this statement of the argument, details such advertising rates, advertisers requirements and necessities, studies regarding channel tuners prime times etc. may have to gathered.

To sum, the argument stating that late-night news program alloting more time to national news is the main reason for lose in advertising revenues and complaints requiring more local news and weather reports is done without enough evidence. Therefore, to properly evaluate this argument, further evidence as mentioned above is required.