The following is an excerpt from a speech given to the School Board about a change to the curriculum quot Because the future will be dominated by technology we must make four years of computer programming mandatory for all high school students If our s

The proposed change to curriculum is that, the future will be dominated by technology, hence making computer programming mandatory for the students will help them get high paying jobs in the field of computer programming or data science and even those who pursue other careers will benefit from programming. This notion is while considering its student's careers is flawed for numerous reasons.

Firstly, schools are the first step in acquiring the skills to explore their passion and identify their own career choices. The notion proposed by the school assumes that there exists a direct correlation between computer programming and adapting to technology. Technology existing in all fields, merely exists to augment the current field to produce more accurate and better results thus optimizing its current workflow or pushing into newer boundaries. Computer programming is merely one of many skills that technology primarily relies and knowing this is irrelevant, as technology does not seek to alter current industries into adapting techniques that only those with computer programming skills can understand and use effectively.

Secondly, people that attend wish to attend universities do to better arm themselves to pursue their passions and interest and the choice of identifying that computer programming is required is entirely upon them and the school has no rights in forcing them to learn something that they find irrelevant. Even if, in the future, they realize that they do need that skill - it is easy to acquire it as computer programming is essentially like learning a language, one can pursue this line of education anytime in their lives and more freely now than ever, thanks to the internet.

Furthermore, the job market is volatile in nature, there is no way of pinpointing a rising and declining trend on which skills are actively seeked by the employers. Many people graduating from school do not actively enter the work force immediately as they may wish to pursue higher education better equipping them for their career choices. Hence, whatever computer programming skills they acquired at school may prove to be inconsequential for students who did not need to study the same subject in college as times change and better and more advanced programming languages may replace the ones they have learnt.

The argument also states that "Even if they pursue other careers, programming will still benefit them, given that all industries are becoming more technological" while this is true, computer programming is a skill used by software engineers and data scientists to design and develop products and materials required for the other industries; implying that those who in other industries which are dependent on technology but not computer programming only need to be capable of using these derived products to augment themselves and have no use for computer programming.

In summary, the argument proposing a change in cirriculum does not prove to be beneficial to students pursuing other careers and it assumes that though graduating school directly enter the active workforce which will use computer programming. It also assumes that the job market will always have a demand for software engineers and data scientists, which is fallacious.