The following is an excerpt from a speech given to the School Board about a change to the curriculum:

"Because the future will be dominated by technology, we must make four years of computer programming mandatory for all high school students. If our students take these classes, they’ll all be able to get high-paying programming jobs and lead fulfilling lives because software engineers and data scientists have the best job prospects and salaries. Therefore, we must educate our students so they can secure these kinds of jobs. Even if they pursue other careers, programming will still benefit them, given that all industries are becoming more technological."

The speech argues, that mandatory classes in computer programming for high school students will help them secure high paying programming jobs, and be useful to them in general due to industries becoming more technological. however, the speech does not support it's argument with much data, and several questions need answers before it can be evaluated.

Firstly, it is important to know if such an amount of courses can be added to the school's curriculum and not put too much load on the students. Four years of courses is a lot, and in most schools students already study a lot as it is, so this might result in the students experiencing too much stress, which leads to more anxiety and potential mental health problems. information on their current schedule would help decide whether it's reasonable to put more strain on the students.

One argument the speech makes is that the courses would secure high paying programming jobs for the students. The fact that these jobs are high paying does not necessarily mean that they are in high demand, software engineering is a tricky business, it requires studying and alot of work that can become rather stressful. so it would be wise to analyse the demand for programmers before saying that students can or cant find these jobs.

Finally, the speech argues, that programming skills will benefit students even if they dont pursue programming careers, due to industries becoming more technological. however, some students might look for work that might be completely unrelated to industry, like art for example, a mandatory course of programming would be completely useless to them. A breakdown of the planed career paths of the students would allow to determine how useful the course would be to the students.

To conclude, to analyse the effectiveness of the proposed course, it would be prudent to first understand how much additional load it would put on the students. And more information on the potential careers of the students will help say how useful the course would be.