Understanding the past is of little use to those in current positions of leadership.

This statement is fundamentally flawed. It suggests that people in positions of leadership should ignore the most vast source of experience that a person in such a position can get. Such an approach would lead to many mistakes that could otherwise be avoided, and stop any progress from happening in the structure of our societies.

History is a goldmine of insight that any leader can learn from. Due to the sheer amount of time humanity existed, most problems that one might encounter already happened before, knowing how these situations played out in the past would be extremely helpful in deciding the path forward. It would be inefficient to try to approach such problems without considering past experiences.

In many circumstances modern issues mirror problems of the past, in that case approaching them as something unique and never before encountered would like likely lead to the same outcomes as in history, since in both cases people worked with the same mindset. Knowing history, and applying that knowledge, would allow to avoid the same mistakes, and lead to a better conclusion.

Finally, a disregard for history stops our societies from making progress, if we never look back, our way of thinking would never improve, and we will get stuck going in circles and never even realising that. We would leave our decision making to be determined by our current situation and never look at our broader path through time, and therefore, will never progress much in the long run.

To conclude, history is of utmost importance to humanity, especially it's leaders. A lack of understanding about the past would be very unproductive both in the short run, and in the further future.