Universities should require students to take courses only within those fields they are interested in studying.

I really like the idea of students having a lot of choice when it comes to choosing their courses, it allows them the freedom to direct their lives according to their preferences. However, a finished university education contains a guarantee that the student mastered a certain area, and in order to be proficient in said area, certain courses have to be taken. So, certain courses have to be a requirement even if the students are not too interested in them.

In many fields a more broad knowledge is required to perform adequately, if a student wishes to skip a part of that critical education, it can make them much less prepared for future work. A good example here would be medicine, even if a doctor wishes to specialise on a specific part of the body, they still need a basic understanding of the rest of the body. They can be a wonderful cardiologist, but if their treatment also compromises a patient's immune system, then perhaps they caused more harm than good. Ofcoase it is not the case that people will always need to understand all aspects of whatever they are dealing with, but they do need a general understanding.

Another problem with giving students full free choice, is that they might not see what their future work can require from them. Before one understands all the practices of their particular profession well, it is hard to know all that it requires. Students will be better equipped if they are directed towards all the relevant fields.

While all these previous concerns are important, I would agree that courses that are not relevant to the field a student is studying should be mandatory. Many people think that courses such as computer programming are so vital in todays society that they have to be a part of any education. I disagree with this attitude, it ignores that there are still many career paths that require very little programming, like artistic work for instance. Forcing these courses on everyone will only waste people's time.

To conclude, I do not agree that mandatory courses cannot include any fields that are outside of the students interest because that can lead to a very narrow under understanding of the area, however courses completely irrelevant to a students main education should not be mandatory ether.