Discussing controversial topics with those with contrasting views is not useful because very few people change their mind when questioned about their core beliefs.

Discusion of various issues is a critical part of our social interaction, many ideas are formed and refined through discusion. Yet rather often a discusion becomes uninformative and devolves into a shouting match when it touches topics that people have strong opinions on. While many such discusions do not have any positive results, I do not think one should avoid controversial topics, but rather adjust the way they aproach the conversation and focus more on the kind of language and arguments to use, which, in my opinion, can make the conversation usefull.

When talking about a controversial topic, instead of trying to understand what the other person meant, people will try to ascribe meaning to their words that wasnt necasseraly intended. This is a natural reaction to ones core beliefs being under assault, the process is not confortable and people become frustrated or even angry. However questioning these beliefs, is criticaly important, and trying to express these ideas to someone who will not accept them easily is a very good exercise. If people can focus on presenting their argument in the strongest form possible, with precise language and a calm demeanor, perhaps it can make the other side understand where they are comming from. And in that case, even if the conversation does not make anyone change their mind, it still provided an incite into other opinions, better understating of ones own arguments, and a more broad prespective of the issue.

Another potential benefit might come if the discussion is public, in a public discusion there would be many people with all kinds of positions on the issue, in that case even if noone in the discusion changed their minds it can still affect alot of people.

To conclude, I do not think that discusions of the kind mentioned in the argument are useless, they can provide better prespectives even if noone changed their mind, and can add more to the discusion if handled in a propper manner.