A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

I believe that while having a unviversal national curriculum in a nation has it's merits, it ultimately sacrifices too much of the freedom of choice the students have, which in my opinion is more important, and benefits the society more than this proposed policy.

The first problem with a national curricuculum is that it limits the freedom of students to plan their own futures. This lack of choice brings several problems, for instance, students will be much less involved in their education. If a student cannot decide what courses to take, then they feel no responsibility for their education, and teaching children the skill to decide their futures, is a critical skill that students should learn as soon as possible. In adition to this, students are more likely to respect a course that is chosen freely more, and will likely work harder to learn the subject.

Another issue that such aproach brings is that students will be unable to specialize in what they see as their future career, and it will take longer for them to finish all the education they require and start contributing to society. If by the time a student enters college they still have not aquired anything that relates specificaly to their college education, it will be harder for them to study, and can take them longer to get their degree. One can say, that with the proposed policy the sudents will have a better understanding of what career they want to pursue, but I dont think that they can realistically get a good understanding of all of the great variety of courses such a national curriculum will have to include, so it might be better to let them study fewer subjects but at a deeper level.

A uniform school curriculum could however be useful for the school system in general, it allows to set uniform standards throughout all schools and makes it easyer to design and administer tests. Transfering students from one school to another will aslo become much easier. But this uniformity ignores the individuality of people, while one students might require one approach another might need a completely different one to prosper. A more flexable system, that can at least to some degree adjust to students would achieve much better results.

While such a national curriculum has it merits, I think that it ultimately harms the education system. It limits students freedom to chose the courses they might need in the future, makes them less involved in their education and ignores their individuality.