The best leaders are those who encourage feedback from the people whom they lead.

Feedback is an important thing in any undertaking, It allows people to see their work from the point of view of people arround them. In leaders it becomes particularly important, and helps them lead more effectively.

Leaders often don't see the world from the point of view of the people they lead, and since an understanding of the situation on the ground is important, a leader has to rely on feedback. Of coarse there are numerous statistical approaches that can also give a leader information on the current situations, but they don't always contain all the information needed, a more direct interaction between the leader and the people he leads can give a better understanding. Say for example a country has a problem with unemployment, the scale of the problem can be estimated from the aggregate data, but in order to find efficient solutions, it's also useful to understand what the people affected are doing now and what are they trying to do. Are they actively looking for a job? Are they rethinking career choices? Those are questions that are hard to answer by looking at the statistics.

Feedback is also helpful for achieving a better attitude towards the system people are dealing with. If people understand that their leaders reachable, they get a feeling that they are all working together towards a mutual goal. Instead of having the impression that they are thoughtless drones toiling away at their leaders behest, they instead get a feeling of belonging which strengthens their cooperation. Imagine a small company, if the boss is a distant figure that the employees interact with only via commands, they are likely not going to care very much whether the company succeeds or fails, if on the other hand they have at least a little say on the direction the company takes, they will get a sense of belonging and will have some stake in the companies success.