The following is an excerpt from a speech given to the School Board about a change to the curriculum:"Because the future will be dominated by technology, we must make four years of computer programming mandatory for all high school students. If our s

At first glance, this passage seems cogent, however, after a thorough analysis of the excerpt, we can find fallacious assumptions and insufficient pieces of evidence are weakening the passage, therefore the argument made in the passage is not as persuasive as it looks. One must critically and objectively analyze the data and proof to support his or her claim.

First and foremost, the author is ignoring the fact if software engineers and data scientists have the best job prospects and salaries when their students graduate from their school. True, some statistics show that software engineers and data scientists are high-paying jobs currently, however, we don't know if those jobs are the best in the future. With the scientific and technological advancement these days, we are living in a world that changes rapidly, making it extremely hard to forecast the future, and thus even if jobs related to information technology are good nowadays, we can't conclude it remains so in the future. Without ruling out this possibility, the persuasiveness of the argument is undermined

Secondly, there is no guarantee that making four years of computer programming mandatory for their students will help them get high-paying programming jobs. Every student is different. Some students may be completely uninterested in programming, and maybe they are fond of mathematics and physics. In such cases, even if they make programming courses mandatory, they are very unlikely to be willing to learn programming and pursue programming jobs. Furthermore, in order to get high-paying programming jobs, students need fundamental backgrounds in the field of mathematics and computer science, thus only teaching computer programming is probably not efficacious and more comprehensive education is required. In order for the School Board to corroborate their argument, they need to investigate the correlations between the educational effect of mandatory computer programming courses and their future jobs.

Thirdly, they are ignoring the cost of educating high school teachers so they can teach their students programming. Since it is a new attempt, and many factors are unknown, it is possible that educating teachers programming itself takes much time and money, making their plan hard. In this way, the school should find any precedent similar cases, in which high schools tried to introduce programming education, and examine the cost and money needed.

To recapitulate my ideas, for the reasons aforementioned, I believe the passage lacks several substantial proof and data to promote their idea of introducing mandatory computer programming courses.