The best leaders are those who encourage feedback from the people whom they lead.

It is a controversial and intricate issue if leaders should encourage feedback from the people who they lead. I'd like to argue that leaders should to some extent put importance on feedback and ideas from their subordinates and people they lead, however, they should not completely rely on their feedback, because to believe in the leader's own belief and persevere in his idea is also a necessitous nature of a great leader, therefore it is important that feedback from people and his idea are appropriately weighed. In this essay, I'd like to present why these two factors are important.

Firstly and foremostly, it is necessary for leaders to always hear from his or her people to shape an objective and manifold point of view, and incorporating different ideas would prevent leaders from turning into a dictator. If leaders are deaf to any other ideas, they are like to become dictatorial and complacent and, in the end, they will lead their people in the wrong way. There is a myriad of examples in history showing despotic leaders who never pay attention to feedback from their people, and eventually, their nation failed to prosper and the insurgency led by dissident people ended their dictatorship. In this way, leaders should encourage feedback from the people whom they lead

Having said that, it is also true that leaders need to persevere in their own beliefs because not all feedback is conducive to making a decision. A leader may be faced with unhelpful feedback, or he may be surrounded with incompetent subordinaries, or he may be simply faced with too much feedback and become irresolute. In these cases, it is crucial for leaders to believe in their own idea. After all, it is the leader who makes the final decision, therefore if they find the feedback not helpful, then he should stick to his idea. Therefore, I'd like to claim that the best leaders should encourage feedback from his people, but they should make wise use of the feedback.

One clear example of my argument can be found in the field of politics. It is a fundamental principle that the president, namely the leader of a country, to listen to the opinion of the citizen. Moreover, it is also important for the president to become a great leader that he can find a point of compromise from many conflicting idea and opinions and make a good decision that most people can agree. Thus, it means both two factors, listening to people and make good use of the feedback, are both important.