It is more harmful to compromise one's own beliefs than to adhere to them.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

While some would argue that it is more harmful to compromise one's own beliefs than to adhere with them, I largely disagree with this position. As people grow older, their views evolve and adapt: often times for the better. Furthermore, with the wide array of beliefs in the world today, if no one compromised on their views, nothing would ever get done. On the flip side, however, sometimes people compromise their views for less than noble reasons such as money or power. Hence, while one should not compromise their views for ignoble reasons, they should largely keep an open mind when it comes to their beliefs.

Firstly, people change all the time: they evolve and they grow. Hence, it is impractical to state that it is better for people to always hold the same beliefs. There are many cases where people's previous beliefs were unequivocally wrong. Joe Biden, for example, used to believe that bussing was an appropriate response to segregation in schools. However, throughout the years he has been able to evolve his opinions on the matter to a more compassionate and empathetic place. If people are not allowed to change their views over time, then people with toxic negative views will remain in that mindset for an eternity.

Furthermore, if everyone decided to not compromise on a single one of their beliefs, the world would become a very contentious place to live in. Take for example the current division amongst the liberals and conservatives in the United States when it comes to issues of immigration reform. Many conservatives believe that illegal immigration must be dealt with a heavy and unyielding hand, while liberals believe that a pathway to citizenship is a better solution. If neither side compromised their beliefs, nothing would ever be done. Hence, in some situations such as this, opposing sides must give and take on different matters: conservatives were able to allocate more funding to border security while liberals were able to overturn the Republican led immigration bans from certain countries. Hence, it is sometimes better to compromise on some beliefs for the greater good.

However, there are some cases where someone does not change their beliefs in lieu of better more well-thought ones or in order to come to an understanding with opposing sides. Sometimes, people compromise their beliefs because of undue peer pressure or for more nefarious reasons such as money or prestige. Take for example, many american politicians who are heavily influenced by their campaign donors. Many corporate Democrats, while running on progressive ideas such as corporate tax reform, will often get nothing done during their tenure because of the large contributions made to them by corporations themselves. Thus, in some cases, it is more harmful to compromise your beliefs than to stick by your values.

People's beliefs are complex and fluid. Sometimes people change their beliefs for ignoble reasons, however, in most cases, people espouse better beliefs based on gained knowledge or experience or compromise some of their views in hopes of moving to a better place with the opposing side. Hence, unless it is coming from a bad place of mind, it is better to keep one's mind open when it comes to their beliefs.