The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of the article believes that Dr.Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid because of his observation-centered approach to studying the culture as well as evidence from author's own team of researchers that suggests otherwise. Dr.Karp further goes on to claim that observation-centered studies, as a whole, are invalid. While some of Dr.Field's new found research may very well be true, there are some faulty jumps and unanswered questions in her argument that undermine its validity.

First of all, it is fallacious to assume that because children spend more time talking about their biological parents, it automatically means that they played a more significant role in their upbringing. Perhaps, the interview questions were posed more so around who their biological parents were rather than who raised them. This premise would naturally lead these children to talk about their parents rather than their village, even if the village played a larger part in the children's upbringing. Furthermore, people do not always talk about the things that are most important to them. For example, a child could talk about his new toy or new favorite television show for hours, but this does not necessarily mean that it is the most important thing in his or her life. Without knowing more about the correlation between the quantity spent talking about a subject and the importance it plays in someone's life, along with the types of questions asked in the interviews, we cannot unequivocally accept the findings of Dr.Karp's research.

Secondly, it may be true that Dr.Field's conclusion was false. However, this does not imply that all observation-centered approaches to culture are invalid. How many other cases of observation-centered approaches to culture have been proven invalid? It could be the case that only Dr.Field's research study was false, but most other observation-centered approaches have proven to be accurate. It is also the case that their were other unknown factors in play that caused Dr.Field's particular case of an observation-centered study to give false results. Maybe his team was not as rigorous with their standards as other scientists using a similar research approach are. Hence, this line of Dr.Karp's reasoning severely undermines her overall argument.

Lastly, how can one confirm that Dr.Karp's interview based approach is more accurate than Dr.Field's observation approach. Has an unbiased third party confirmed or denied her results? Has her work and methodology been peer reviewed? Dr.Karp's personal bias could lead her to believe the superiority of her own research methods over the research methods of others. Until her work and her methedology has been throroughly reviewed by other researchers, we cannot conclude that her method of research is better that Dr.Field's work and consequently that her results are more accurate.

While Dr.Karp has made some interesting claims about the Tertian culture and provided evidence to back it up, some of the faulty statements that Dr.Karp has made, like the argument that if one culture-based observation-centered approach is invalid, every culture-based observation-centered approach is invalid, severely undermine her credibility. Furthermore, without more details on her interview-centered method and confirmation from the research community that Dr.Karp's methodologies are more accurate and superior to others, it is difficult to accept any of Dr.Karp's arguments as demonstrably true. Answers to some of the questions mentioned above and a more cautious, well-developed conclusion could improve the validity of Dr.Karp's claims.