The following appeared as part of an article in a business magazine.

"A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than 6 hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. These results suggest that if a business wants to prosper, it should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author of the argument claim that firms should hire only people, who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night because they will be beneficial to prosper the business. To bolster his argument author has provided the evidence that the study was conducted with male and female Mentian advertising executives has come to the conclusion that, people who need less than 6 hours of sleep had higher profit margins and faster growth. This argument seems to be valid at first glance, but when we try to analyze it in greater detail it is flawed.

Firstly, the author has mentioned a study of 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives. This argument is flawed in itself because the 300 is not a valid number. The author has failed to mention the 300 people out of what. It might be possible that if there are lots of people say, ten thousand then the 300 is very less number as compared to ten thousand people. Also, it is equally possible that the sleeping hours of different people are different and abnormal. Mostly, any human being needs sleep of at least 8 hours, also it is natural to have 300 people who sleep less than 6 hours.

Secondly, the author assumes that the people who sleep for less than 6 hours have higher profit margins and faster growth because they work for more hours than other people who sleep for more than 6 hours. It is possible that the people who sleep for less than 6 hours have a sleep deprivation problem, as a result, they are sleeping less than 6 hours. Also, the sleep of fewer than 8 hours causes fatigue and anxiety in human beings it is equally possible that this will affect there performance. Moreover, It is equally possible that this person has to commute for more time to reach to their firms, hence they are sleeping for less time.

Finally, the author concludes that to prosper their business they should hire people who sleep less than 6 hours. This argument is flawed because the other factors are also responsible for the success of the firm, such as the mental abilities of the employees, working schedules of firms, grasping the power of employees, ability to get innovative ideas for firms, etc. For instance, the person who sleeps for 9 hours can be very productive after sleep so he can work better than the other employees.

In conclusion, the author's argument is flawed because of some unstated assumptions. The author should consider other factors such as the working ability of the employee that is responsible for the growth of the firm to achieve success rather than sleeping habits of people, before reaching to conclusion that they should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night.

Ending Soon Your trial access is limited and expires soon. Upgrade now to get access to 200+ video lessons, 2000+ questions, upto 6 practice tests, unlimited reports and much more.