Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

At first glimpse, the argument seems to be plausible. However, a closer scrutiny of the evidences reveals that, a lot of significant queries yet to be responded to consider the argument valid and irrefutable. In this assertion, the author concludes that, in order to attract more viewers to news programs and to avoid losing any further advertisement revenues, they should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all of the news program. To substantiate the conclusion the author cites several evidences like, the complaints received from the viewers, cancelling of the advertising contracts and so on. However, before the argument can be properly evaluated, three evidences is need to be discussed.

First of all, the actual data about the number of complaints received from the viewers should be provided. Are the complaints received from the viewers are significantly large enough to draw a conclusion about the people's preferences towards the news? The author in this argument hasn't provided any statistical data by relying which we can come to a decision about the people’s likes or dislikes. However, it may be possible that, the number of complaints received from the viewers is very lower compared to the number of viewers. Perhaps, a lot of viewers see the news, but a very few complaints have been received from the viewers. If the scenario has merit, then the conclusion drawn in the original argument is significantly weakened.

Secondly, the actual reason to cancel the advertisement contracts should be provided. Is devoting less time to weather and local news is the only reason for canceling the advertisement contracts? The author hasn't provided any specific reason behind the canceling of the advertisement contracts. Nevertheless, it can be possible that, the advertisement contracts has been canceled due to other reason. Various factors can play rule behind this cancellation, such as: people are not willing to watch the news due to bad presentation of the news, or maybe the product that was being advertised, company has stopped its production. And that's why the company has canceled their advertisement contracts. So there is no relation between the cancellation of the contracts and the weather and local news time. If the above is true, the argument doesn't hold water.

Last but not least, there is no evidence about the actual viewers and the contents of the news. Who are the actual viewers of the news? Are they teenagers, or older people, or employee persons? It can be possible that, most of the viewers are those persons, who has become very busy for their study or work pressures recently and that's why they are less interested to watch the news. Furthermore, there is a possibility that, the content of the news has been changed in recent days. Too many violence are occurring now a days and that's why people are less interested to see those violent news. If the above is true, the argument is totally flawed.

Therefore, the argument can be considered as untenable, due to lack of persuasive evidences and unstated assumptions. To further fortifying this argument, the author is suggested to provide the evidences as follows: he should provide the actual number of the complaints received, he should provide the actual reason behind the canceling of the advertisement contracts, and moreover he should provide the information about the news content and news viewers. By stating these evidences, the argument can be considered as tenable and irrefutable.