Government officials should rely on their own judgment rather than unquestioningly carry out the will of the people they serve.

I believe in an open, transparent and democratic government, understood as a government that listens to the people it serves and put into service user needs as a tool of defining better public policies.

People that claim that government officials should rely on their own judgment rather than in the people they serve are implicitly claiming that government own judgment is better than the people judgment. However, this point of view is full of elitism and relies in non supported assumptions. In addition, this view is more in line with an autocratic or dictatorial government than with modern democracies. In fact, in modern democracies, listening to the public and collecting citizen needs and wills should be one of the first steps for every policy, especially social policy.

In this sense, government officials should listen to their people. In the public administration and public policy field, several studies had shown that policies that are designed with citizens participation tend to be more successful. The math behind is simple: how can government officials enclosured in a downtown building understand every aspect of what people need and want?

As an illustration of my argument, let’s think about offering a new digital service, for instance, a special ID for the elderly. The question behind is how can we include user needs - in this case, old people needs - in order to ensure that the new public service suits the target public correctly. In other words, how does the elderly feels about digital service? Maybe they prefer to go to an office and be helped by a public official. So, why spending money in this digital transformation if it is not what people want?

Moreover, the citizen participation in the decision-making process can empower citizens and, thus, instill a public feeling in the society. It helps developing a sense of responsibility, once that power is shared and also the consequences - whether positive or negatives - are shared as well. There are several experiences in which the people can decide where to spend a specific amount of public funding. For example, does a community prefer to invest money in a new park or in a new school? By doing this, people become more aware of public funding, public priorities and the limits of public budgeting.

Therefore, I argue that government officials should listen carefully to the people they serve in order to learn more and produce more representative public policies. In addition, by doing that, governments are sharing power with the people, empowering the society and preserving a sense of public good. This does not mean that governments should unquestioningly do everything that people want, especially because in general the problems are more complex and difficult to solve inside the government than people can actually see. However, this means that government officials cannot be distant from people’s needs, attitudes and wills. Conversely, keeping a proximity between government and the people can ensure more responsive and successful public policies.