The following appeared in a letter from the owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment complex to its manager.

"One month ago, all the showerheads in the first three buildings of the Sunnyside Towers complex were modified to restrict maximum water flow to one-third of what it used to be. Although actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment are not yet available, the change will obviously result in a considerable savings for Sunnyside Corporation, since the corporation must pay for water each month. Except for a few complaints about low water pressure, no problems with showers have been reported since the adjustment. Clearly, modifying showerheads to restrict water flow throughout all twelve buildings in the Sunnyside Towers complex will increase our profits further."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In this passage, the author recommends to restrict water flow throughout all of twelve buildings in Sunnyside towers. To support his/her claim, the author cites a seeming positive result of reconstruction for the first three building with such approach, such as little complaints. Furthermore, few problems are reported in a month after such adaption, which is used to strengthen his/her viewpoint. Based on this result, the author aggressively suggest to spread such reconstruction to all of buildings.Quite convincing though such recommendation appears at first glance, a closer scrutiny reveals that the conclusion lack crucial supports and therefore we need more evidence to help evaluate such conclusion.

To begin with, we need more evidence to ascertain whether such water flow restriction is actually effective. First of all, while dynamic reduction to one-third of previous water consumption seems a favorable sign, figure about actual readings of water usage and the time duration after water restriction could lend more credibility to the evaluation of the author's statement about water saving effectness. If people tend to wash a longer time or the total amount of water consumption increase after such adaption, the effectness of water saving statement is in great doubt and the author's conclusion will be rendered much less advisable. Second, we need to understand whether customer's complaints have been suppressed in survey or they don't have sufficient time to report their dissatisfaction. If it turns out that the situation mentioned above doesn't reflect the truth of customer feeling or even distort the truth, we are unconvinced of the positive result of such reconstruction of water restriction.

Furthermore, we need more evidence to verify if application of such water restriction to the remaining buildings could incur other issues. While it is shown that the first building's reconstruction don't impact customer's feeling on the surface, no evidence serves to rule out the probability that customers who do washing in the first building actually have moved to the remaining building, thus they could still endure such change. However, if all of buildings are restricted with water influx, they seems lost all of chance to enjoy a better washing. Thus, additional evidence gains great significance to determine whether customers actually do such workaround after the reconstruction of the first three buildings. If new evidence shows that they actually resorts to such relocation of washing in the remaining buildings, it is reasonably safe to claim that all of changes of water maximum amount could lead to their protest and the author's conclusion will be weakened. On the contrary, if new information discloses an opposite situation, his/her conclusion will be lent great support to.

Last but not least, despite the presence of all the previous evidence, a more accurate evaluation of the author's recommendation requires additional information. Specific evidence is needed to decide whether the total reconstruction cost could overshadow the cost saving brought about by such water restriction; that is to say, even if water saving by shower refraction could give additional expense reduction, the Sunnyside Towers have to afford a raising up total reconstruction cost in the first years of reconstruction. And such cost could actually give a huge burden for company's continual progress. If the answers is positive, his/her conclusion will be weakened; on the contrary, if the promising benefit of water saving could offset such construction cost easily in a long term, his/her conclusion of reconstruction will gain more weights.

In summary, the evidence cited by the author in the passage could not provide sufficiently conclusive information to make his/her conclusion compelling. As a result, we need more evidence to better evaluate such conclusion.