Formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Education and discussing different types of it has always been a controversial issue. While some people believe the formal type of education has several merits, some maintain it has some disadvantages like limitation our minds and spirits which I will debate now.

Formal education has been used for several centuries and provides a good environment for students to learn various subjects ranging from philosophy and law to mathematics and chemistry. It can broaden our horizons due to the fact that it helps us to survey others findings and understand their ideas. Then students could pursue their favorite subjects to have innovations or expand their ideas.

On the other hand, opponents of formal education claim that the structure of it limits our minds and we can think just according to the methods that are provided by this type of education. As a result, it can destroy innovative sense in human beings or at least weaken it. For example, in order to find a medicine for cancer, scientists more think about old methods for fighting with this disease and try to improve the old methods, while it is possible to find a method that completely different from the old ones and completely novel for the science. This type of innovative action rarely has been happened in the scientific world and it is due to formal education.

However, some experts claim that both could be beneficial and by doing some small changes we can take advantage of both. The formal education help students to be familiar of basic knowledge which is necessary for pursuing education such as reading and writing in primary school. In some classes, teachers can eliminate the limitations of the class and provide an interactive class and use students' attendance for teaching that help students to expand their mind and think differently.

Finally, governments and city councils could play a vital role to make better situations for students. For example, they could provide different competitions between students to invoke their innovative sense such as presenting a problem of the city or country and give suggestions from pupils to solve it.

In conclusion, I believe although formal education has some merits, nevertheless, it is possible for teachers or governments to change some characteristics and prepare better conditions for students.